Brown MAT Alumni Wins “Rookie of the Year” Award

Ally Miller ’13, poses for a photo after receiving the Green Dot Public Schools “Rookie of the Year” award.

Wondering if the Brown MAT program will prepare you for teaching success? The answer is a resounding yes!

In the same month as we featured Ally Miller, Secondary English ’13, in our “Spotlight on Alumni” series, she has received the Green Dot Public Schools “Rookie of the Year” award! In our recent feature, Ally credited the Brown MAT for helping her to develop her teaching practice in a variety of ways, from a familiarity with popular literature she would use in the classroom to a toolkit of classroom management techniques. Like all Brown Elementary and Secondary MAT graduates, Ally finished the program with the distinction of being officially designated a highly-qualified teacher. Most importantly, in Ally’s own words, “I felt truly prepared for my career after graduation.” Ally winning this award, in a Los Angeles, California, public school network serving over 10,000 students, goes to show that not only are Brown MAT graduates ready to teach in a wide array of school and classroom environments, they have the ability to make an immediate impact as teacher leaders.

Asked how she feels receiving the “Rookie of the Year” award, Ally says, “Teaching is often a thankless profession as many who came before me have said, but this honor was an incredible moment for me and more of a giant thank you than I could have ever expected. The MAT program undoubtedly prepared me for the rigorous challenges of the field, and I know that much of my success as a teacher can be attributed to the mentorship I received during my time at Brown.”

Congratulations, Ally! We are proud of the work you are doing with your students and look forward to more great things to come!

